Oregon State University

Leadership & Advisors

Oregon Sea Grant leadership team discusses program activities

Shelby Walker

Shelby Walker, Director

Contact information

Shelby Walker assumes the Oregon Sea Grant as of July, replacing Rich Holdren, who has served as interim director for the past year.

Dr. Walker comes to OSG from the NOAA Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research's Office of Policy, Planning and Evaluation, where she has been responsible for NOAA research planning efforts, and serves as associate director for the NOAA RESTORE Act Science Program. Prior to NOAA, she was an associate program director in the National Science Foundation's Ocean Sciences Division, where she helped lead the Ocean Technology and Interdisciplinary Coordination Program. She holds a PhD in marine science from the College of William and Mary, and is a former Sea Grant Knauss Fellow.

Joe Cone, Assistant Director and Communications Leader

Contact information

Leader of the Sea Grant communications team, Joe Cone has been with Oregon Sea Grant since 1983. He has written and edited books, shot and edited photographs, films and videos, produced radio programs, designed graphics, and authored DVDs. His current emphasis is on researching and writing about aspects of effective science communication. Joe is an adjunct graduate faculty member in Marine Resource Management, Science and Math Education, and Public Policy at OSU.

David Hansen, Sea Grant Extension Program Leader

Contact information

Dave Hansen has led the Sea Grant Extension program since 2010, succeeding Jay Rasmussen. He came to Oregon Sea Grant from the University of Delaware, where he was an associate professor of soil and environmental quality and Extension Program Leader for the Agriculture and Natural Resources program. Dr. Hansen received his Ph.D. from Iowa State University in Soil Science and Water Resources and has been involved with regional water quality issues on the east coast since 1999.

Shawn Rowe, Marine Education Specialist

Contact information

As our Extension Marine Education Learning Specialist, Dr. Rowe has spent the past several years engaged in research on free-choice learning - the kind of learning people do outside the boundaries of classrooms and other formal education settings. Working under grants from the National Science Foundation, NOAA and others, Dr. Rowe uses the Visitor Center as a laboratory to study learning behavior. He holds a PhD from Washington University in St. Louis.

Melissa Metz, Fiscal Officer

Contact information

Melissa Metz joined Oregon Sea Grant at the beginning of 2012 as our Fiscal Officer, with responsibility for leadership, oversight, and management of the program's fiscal operations, and our Webnibus online grants management system. Before coming to Sea Grant, she served as Chief Administrative Officer for the Oregon Consortium, Director of Learning Technologies at Illinois Valley Community College, Director of the Western Illinois Education Consortium at Black Hawk College, and as Transfer Center Grant Manager at Black Hawk College.

Sarah Kolesar, Research and Scholars Program Leader

Contact information

Sarah Kolesar is the primary point of contact for researchers working under - or applying for - Sea Grant support, as well as for our graduate and undergraduate Sea Grant Scholars. She joined Sea Grant in 2009 and became our research program specialist the following year. A former associate program manager at the Office of Naval Research's Biological oceanography program, Sarah holds a PhD in estuarine ecology from the University of Maryland and spent two years as a visiting professor at St. Mary's College of Maryland.

Advisory Council

Oregon Sea Grant's citizen Advisory Council helps ensure that research and outreach programs address the needs and priorities of Oregon's ocean and coastal communities, businesses, and policymakers.

Council members are drawn from a broad range of coastal interests: The private sector, community groups, local government, resource management agencies and others with a stake in Oregon's ocean and coasts. They serve without pay, and meet periodically to help set program priorities, review research proposals and advise the program's leadership. Members and former members of the Advisory Council also act as advocates for Sea Grant under a variety of circumstances.

Current council members are:

  • Dr. Xanthippe Augerot, Corvallis, OR. Executive Director of Marys River Watershed Council.
  • Kirk Beiningen, Milwaukie, OR. Retired, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife.
  • Anne Berblinger, Portland, OR. Retired, US Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration; small farm owner.
  • Dr. Caren Braby, Newport, OR. Manager of the Marine Resources Program at Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife.
  • Ellie Dumdi, Eugene, OR. Past Member, Lane County Board of Commissioners.
  • Valerie Folkema, Bay City, OR. President of the Port of Garibaldi.  Founding member of Tillamook Estuaries Partnership.
  • Peter Huhtala, Astoria, OR. Executive Director of Columbia River Business Alliance.
  • Jay Rasmussen, Toledo, OR. Former Oregon Sea Grant Associate Director and Extension Program Leader.
  • Allan Rumbaugh, Tigard, OR. Retired, General Manager, Oregon International Port of Coos Bay.
  • William Schreiber, Bay City, OR. Owner, FV Captain Ryan; current member of ODFW Developmental Fisheries Board.
  • Dr. Craig Young, Charleston, OR. Professor of Biology, University of Oregon and Director of the Oregon Institute of Marine Biology.

Contact Info

Oregon Sea Grant
1600 SW Western Blvd
Suite 350
Corvallis OR 97333
Phone: 541-737-2714
FAX: 541-737-7958

Contact us by e-mail
Copyright ©  2015 Oregon State University

About this site

Oregon Sea Grant logo


National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration