A Work-Ready Training Program

The Summer Scholars Program is a PAID 10-week program that places undergraduate students from around the country with a variety of Oregon-based host organizations (tribal, public agency, non-profit, non-governmental). It provides a diversity of students with hands-on experience under the mentorship of a career professional. Scholars can assist host agencies with field work, lab work, analyses, research, policy development, and outreach and public engagement efforts.

The goal of the OSG Summer Scholars Program is to contribute to a diverse ocean workforce that understands technical and social challenges facing coastal communities and the natural environment. The program helps prepare undergraduate students for graduate school, as well as careers in marine science, policy, management and outreach.

The 2022 Summer Scholars Request for Applications is available now! See below for more details.

Meet the 2021 Summer Scholars on our blog!

Please review the “How to Apply” section of this website and the Application Resources page for more information about how to assemble a strong application.  You may reach out to Jenny Engels with additional questions.


NEW THIS YEAR - No letters of recommendation are required!  Any undergraduate student who is currently enrolled in any U.S. college or university (or who will have graduated during the 2021-2022 academic year) may apply!

Details and instructions (PDF) on how to apply for the 2022 fellowship are available. 

NEW! - A list of the 2022 host opportunities (PDF) are available.

The 2022 application deadline is February 14, 2022 at 11:30pm Pacific time. 

Here's a video that provides an overview of what the Summer Scholars Program is all about:

2021 Sea Grant Summer Scholars 

"Meet the Scholars" on the Oregon Sea Grant Summer Scholars Blog

  • Joshua Fackrell
  • Charlotte Klein
  • Phoenix McFarlane
  • Lisette Perez
  • Jessica French
  • Andrea Vega
  • Amishi Singh
  • Grace Roa
  • Mikayla Reuter
  • Yalin Li
  • Lucas Parvin